USA Rugby Referees Kat Roche and Amelia Luciano named match officials to Guinness Women’s Six Nations and Pacific Four Series

World Rugby recently announced referee appointments for the 2024 Guinness Women's Six Nations and Pacific Four Series, where two USA Rugby Referees have been named to the upcoming international events.

Kat Roche will referee the opening Six Nations fixture between France and Ireland in Le Mans on March 23, while Amelia Luciano will Assistant Referee the Pacific Nations Cup USA home match against Canada on April 27th. Venue location is to be confirmed for the Pacific Four Series.

With a packed calendar of fixtures ahead, World Rugby has named eleven officials from 10 nations appointed across the 21 matches. It’s all to play for in 2024 with WXV and Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 qualification up for grabs. Match official profiles are available in the World Rugby Media Zone.

Guinness Women’s Six Nations

A total of nine match officials representing eight nations will take charge of the 15 tests.

  • Kat Roche (USA) will referee the France and Ireland in Le Mans on March 23. Maggie Cogger-Orr (New Zealand) will oversee the final match of the Championship between France and England in Bordeaux on 27 April.
  • Cogger-Orr, Sara Cox (England), Hollie Davidson (Scotland), Aurélie Groizeleau (France), Clara Munarini (Italy) and Roche will each referee two matches.
  • Natarsha Ganley (New Zealand) will make her Women’s Six Nations debut with Ireland v Scotland at the Kingspan Stadium on 27 April.
  • Joy Neville (Ireland) will bow out of international rugby with France v Italy in Paris on 14 April her final test appointment.

Assistant referees Chelsea Gillespie (Scotland), Melissa Leboeuf (France), Amber Stamp-Dunstan (Wales) and Holly Wood (England) will make their Women’s Six Nations debuts as assistant referees.

World Rugby Pacific Four Series

Hot off the heels of the Guinness Women’s Six Nations, the Pacific Four Series will take place between 27 April and 25 May with standalone matches in Australia, New Zealand and USA.

  • Tyler Miller (Australia) will make her test debut as a referee in the opening game between hosts USA and Canada on 27 April.
  • Julianne Zussman (Canada) takes charge of New Zealand v USA on 11 May, her first test since the sides last met in the 2023 edition.
  • Natarsha Ganley (New Zealand) and Aurélie Groizeleau (France) will take charge of their first Pacific Four Series matches in May.
  • Assistant referees Tiana Anderson (New Zealand), Ella Goldsmith (Australia), Jess Ling (Australia), Chloe Sampson (New Zealand) and Tanieka Uerata (New Zealand) will be involved in the tournament for the first time, as will Television Match Officials Rachel Horton (Australia), Quinton Immelman (South Africa). Glenn Newman (New Zealand) and Aaron Paterson (New Zealand).

The World Rugby Pacific Four Series returns between 27 April and 25 May, 2024 with matches taking place in Australia, New Zealand and USA. The stakes are high with the standings at the end of the Pacific Four Series 2024 determining the next team to qualify for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 with the tournament also providing a qualification route to WXV 2024. Match official appointments are merit-based and have been made following a thorough review of international and domestic competitions across 2023.

World Rugby High Performance Women’s Referee Manager Alhambra Nievas said: “WXV 2023 provided a great opportunity for match officials to experience a mini Rugby World Cup scenario, both on and off field, creating significant opportunities and providing invaluable experience for those selected. It’s key we keep building the momentum in 2024 as we strive to be the best on the road to Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025.”