2024 Collegiate Honors Awarded to USA Eagle Freda Tafuna and Wyatt Parry

David Levy
David Levy

Every year, Goff Rugby Report and the Washington Athletic Club honor the best Men's and Women's Collegiate XVs players across the nation with USA Eagle Freda Tafuna of Lindenwood University winning the MA Sorensen Award and Wyatt Parry of BYU the Rudy Schultz Award.

First awarded back in 2016, 10 of the 16 award winners have gone on to earn senior international caps with USA Rugby across XVs and sevens. Freda Tafuna of Lindenwood University has been named the 2024 MA Sorensen Award winner, as the top female collegiate rugby player in the United States.

Tafuna has already made her way to the international level with USA Rugby, earning her first cap during the 2023 Pacific Four Series and currently in USA camp for this year's edition. Tafuna was a physically dominant force for the Lions this year as a Junior, reaching the D1 Elite Final this year, her third appearance after two championship wins. Originally a stand out with Belmont Shore and SoCal Youth Rugby, Tafuna is another amazing talent to watch after her college days.

BYU scrumhalf, Wyatt Parry was honored with the 2024 Rudy Scholz Award, recognizing the best male collegiate rugby player in the United States. Parry is a Utah native and veteran senior with the Cougars, helping to lead his team through a competitive D1A field, twice reaching the National semifinals before just falling short of the title game this past weekend against Saint Mary's. The semifinal was only the second match of the season this Parry-led offense scored less that 40 points, leading to the awarding votes for Parry this year.

Wyatt Parry BYU
Photo: BYU Instagram

About the MA Sorensen & Rudy Scholz Awards

The MA Sorensen Award is named after Maryann Sorensen, who was a women’s collegiate rugby trailblazer at William & Mary and was the starting prop for the USA when they won the 1991 World Cup and made the next two World Cup finals in 1994 and 1998. A successful doctor (specializing as an anesthesiologist), Sorensen was also an inspiring coach and rugby mentor throughout her career. She has been at the Sorensen awards celebration every year to present the trophy that bears her name.

The Rudy Scholz Award is named after Rudolph Scholz (1896-1981), who played for Santa Clara and as a halfback helped lead the USA to Olympic gold medals in rugby in 1920 and 1924. He served in both World Wars, volunteering to serve in World War II when he was in his 40s, and was decorated in both. A successful lawyer and lifelong rugby player, Rudy Scholz played his final rugby game when he was 83.

The Washington Athletic Club in Seattle will host both award winners in June for the annual gala bringing together the rugby community and winners of years past, the gala will take place on June 8.